#acwrimo

It’s almost November, which means it’s either time for you to grow a mustache, write a novel, or, if you’re an academic like me, get your ass into gear and move some projects forward! Last year was my first year doing #acwrimo and given the mostly time-based goal, I was pleased with the results. This year is a bit different for a number of reasons:

  • I had a great writing summer, so I now have projects at the journal stage that require some revision work.
  • There is a larger project that emerged last spring. I haven’t had time to think through it. I want some #acwrimo time going there.
  • I have a writing partner. I haven’t been the best colleague recently, but we had a successful spring/summer using gchat to keep each other updated on our progress. Now we’re emailing once a week with reports. I look forward to using #acwrimo to make sure I hold up my end of the bargain with her.
  • I am busier at work, with an administrative position that I haven’t quite learned how to do. Indeed, figuring out administrative ropes has been a slightly frustrating process for me.

All that said, here are my goals:

  • Two pomodoros a day, six days a week. I want to work towards consistency and contact, i.e. to remember that I’m a researcher on a nearly-daily basis.
  • One revise and resubmit. One article I submitted in August garnered a strong encouragement to revise and resubmit. Yay! The critiques are useful and make sense to me.
  • One reduce and resubmit. This one I should probably turn around more quickly. The journal to which I submitted my article really wants to consider it, but I’m, um, 2000 words over the limit. I’m still not sure how I’m going to shorten it, but shorten it I shall.
  • Spend some time brainstorming (and just enjoying) the new project. More concretely, I need to figure out how close I am to being able to write up a book proposal.
  • Make some decisions on some upcoming conferences and, if/when necessary, write up the abstracts.

Not that I’m the hugest twitterite, but you can follow me there at @adriana_estill to see how my work is going. I plan to update the blog only occasionally.

Leave a comment