Day 21 of Lenten poetry, i.e. why

why why am I still doing this?

3/21/2017 The world is turning springly here at home, while in D.C. it sounds like everything is going bonkers. Rumors of impeachment and/or resignation of 45 abound.

I couldn’t wrap my head around poetry today, so I found a prompt online: “Grab the closest book. Go to page 29. Write down 10 words that catch your eye. Use 7 of the words in a poem. For extra credit, have 4 of them appear at the end of a line.” Closest book to me is Living a Feminist Life by Sara Ahmed. I love this book and this woman so much. She’s brilliant. Page 29 is in the section called “feminism is sensational.” Here are 10 words that catch my eye: feminist, location, smooth, clicking, audible, blink, reappears, version, world, body.

The hairs of my feminist arms stand up

That version of me did not see the world
the same way that this version does now.
I blinked away the cobwebs at the sleepy corners of my eye
and rubbed them with fists for good measure.

My location did not change and yet the world
around me did; this version of me blinks
to see how feminist sense makes audible
the clicks and cracks all around me.

1 thought on “Day 21 of Lenten poetry, i.e. why”

Leave a Reply

