teaching

March 30 2017

Today was one of those long, busy days where so many voices and data points and demands stretch at your attention and tug on your focus that you’re (by which I mean I’m) left with deep wells of need for whiskey and ice cream at the end of the day.

Teaching

Some days language spools in my brain
and flows gracefully through my lips
making delicate word clouds in the air
that portend great things, name vague
theories, crystallize the inchoate.

Some other days–though often those same days–
words clump in corners and resist,
they hide in tangled bilingual masses,
they stumble and glower and refuse
my requests and then they laugh
at my clumsiness.

Leave a Reply

